Eight ascospores are contained within each ascus: the four nuclear products of meiosis undergo a mitotic division and each nucleus is packaged within an ascospore. Each nucleus within an ascospore further divides mitotically without a cell division resulting in binucleate ascospores.

Updated 28 May 2007 by Jeffrey Rollins.


  • Single ascospores
  • Ascopspore germination

Commenting is closed for this article.